Performance management

What can performance management do for you?

Why do ambitious organisations see performance management as such an effective tool? Because they recognise that it offers the perfect way to deliver the kind of employee leadership and development that will boost their competitive edge while respecting people’s needs. It gives both employees and managers a clear idea of how they are contributing to the company’s overall results on an individual level, and it highlights the areas of development that are most important for them. A robust performance management system that encompasses the entire organisation can serve to identify and retain top performers and strategically align people’s individual performance. Performance management is one of the core functions of the HR department and dovetails closely with other HR processes such as talent management and skills management.

How does performance management work?

Performance management is closely intertwined with skills and talent management. Professional performance management includes elements such as

  • mandatory performance appraisals
  • documented responsibilities and goal agreements
  • standardised performance evaluations
  • structured self and peer assessment in teams
  • strategic assessments of potential and career planning
  • clear remuneration criteria.


These instruments have recently faced increasing criticism, but large-scale studies continue to make one thing clear: giving employees a clearer idea of their contribution towards the company’s success and their individual opportunities for development in the context of an annual performance appraisal makes them more satisfied and more committed to their work. To ensure that these individual elements of performance management bring about maximum synergy effects, it’s important to focus on sustainable, user-friendly, dovetailed solutions.

The future of performance management

There’s no doubt that periods of agility and volatility tend to somewhat diminish the standing of goal agreements and similar tools. Up-to-date performance management systems therefore take current developments into account by

  • switching from agreeing individual goals to agreeing shared goals
  • switching from top-down feedback to peer or 360 degree feedback
  • switching from individual performance bonuses to fostering motivation by creating meaning and providing scope for creativity
  • switching from mandatory large-scale interventions to boost people’s qualifications to on-demand interventions to provide the individual qualifications people need

We can advise you on designing and developing these tools and provide support throughout their preparation and launch. We can also provide training to everyone involved in making the process a success – from HR experts to employee representatives. The exact format of what we offer will depend on your individual needs. Please click on the “Projects“ tab to see some examples of our previous work in this area.

Performance Management

Was kann Performance Management?

Warum praktizieren ambitionierte Organisationen ein systematisches Performance Management? Sie werden damit ihrem Anspruch auf eine gleichermaßen wettbewerbsfähige wie auch wertschätzende Personalführung und Personalentwicklung gerecht. Mitarbeiter und Führungskräfte erhalten Transparenz über ihren individuellen Wertschöpfungsbeitrag zum Gesamtergebnis und gewinnen Klarheit über ihre persönlichen Entwicklungsfelder. Damit dient konsequentes Performance Management der gesamten Organisation zur Identifizierung und Bindung von Leistungsträgern und zur strategischen Ausrichtung von Einzelleistungen. Performance Management ist eine Kernfunktion von HR und ist eng mit anderen HR-Prozessen, wie dem Talent Management oder dem Kompetenzmanagement verzahnt.

Wie geht Performance Management?

Performance Management ist eng verzahnt mit Kompetenz- und Talent-Management. Zu einem professionellen Performance Management gehören Elemente wie

  • verbindliche Mitarbeitergespräche
  • dokumentierte Verantwortlichkeiten und Zielvereinbarungen
  • einheitliche Leistungsbeurteilungen
  • strukturierte Selbst-Fremdeinschätzungen im Team
  • strategische Potenzialgespräche und Laufbahnplanung
  • nachvollziehbare Vergütungskriterien.


Auch wenn diese Instrumente in letzter Zeit immer wieder kritisch diskutiert werden, großflächige Untersuchungen zeigen jedoch immer noch eines ganz klar: Mitarbeiter, die im Jahresgespräch Transparenz über ihren Beitrag zum Unternehmenserfolg sowie ihre individuellen Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten gewinnen, sind zufriedener und haben ein höheres Commitment zu ihrer Arbeit. Damit die einzelnen Elemente des Performance Managements Ihre Synergie-Effekte voll entfalten können, ist ein besonderes Augenmerk auf zukunftsfähige, benutzerfreundliche und miteinander vernetzte Lösungen zu legen.

Die Zukunft des Performance Managements

Zugegeben: In Zeiten der Agilität und Volatilität ist das Image von Zielvereinbarungen & Co durchaus etwas angekratzt. Daher berücksichtigt zeitgemäßes Performance Management die aktuellen Entwicklungen

  • von der individuellen Zielvereinbarung zu gemeinsamen Zielen
  • vom Top-Down-Feedback zum Peer- bzw. 360° Feedback
  • vom individuellen Erfolgsbonus zur Motivation durch Sinnstiftung und Gestaltungsfreiräume
  • von verpflichtenden großflächigen Qualifizierungsprogrammen bis zu individueller Qualifizierung „on demand“


Wir beraten Sie bei der Konzeption und Weiterentwicklung dieser Instrumente, begleiten Sie bei allen Schritten der Einführung und trainieren vom HR-Experten bis hin zur Arbeitnehmervertretung alle Beteiligten in der erfolgreichen Umsetzung. Über das passende Format entscheiden Ihre individuellen Rahmenbedingungen. Unter der Rubrik „Projekte“ können Sie einen Einblick in unsere Erfahrungsbreite zu diesem Thema gewinnen.